Everyday Matters

I have debated with myself on whether to post the following sketch for so long, that it is well into Wednesday.  Serene Wednesday is where I intended to simply sit down and write out the feelings I have gathered over the recent week, and however unsettling, it was going to be calm and serene.

But the quote On What Athletes Can Teach Writers ,  The Daily Post said it so well:

I’ve missed more than 9000 shots in my career. I’ve lost almost 300 games. 26 times I’ve been trusted to take the game winning shot and missed. I’ve failed over and over and over again in my life. And that is why I succeed.

– Michael Jordan

and

You don’t get to be a six-time NBA champion without a few mistakes, a few false starts, and a few failed attempts along the way.

How true it also applies to the art of drawing!  I have thus decided to brave myself of the consequences of being a perfectionist, and deliberately defying it in posting the rough sketch I did of yesterday.  I have a fondness in the area of drawing/sketching/painting, but have a particular difficult time in actually realizing what I have always fancied occupied my days.  This drawing is from Everyday Matters Challenge from Danny Gregory: topic 12 – draw what you ate for dinner.

Sadly the dinner itself was consumed and well digested before I came to the challenge.  The dinner itself, orange flavoured and a little on the sweet side to be delectable to us, was a lobster ravioli that we discovered at a local wholesale store after a snow storm in the morning.  This rendering had to, unfortunately, be the dessert: mixed frozen berries topped with greek yogurt and a sprinkling of sugar.

 

IMG_0574

4 thoughts on “Everyday Matters

Leave a Reply

